top of page

The Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), Government of India, and the National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research (NCPOR) is very pleased to host the 46 Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) and the 26 Committee for Environmental Protection (CEP) Meeting scheduled from the

20th to 30th May, 2024 at Kochi, India.  


National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research (NCPOR), an autonomous organization under the Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), Government of India, is India’s premier R&D institution responsible for the country’s research activities in the Polar and Southern Ocean realms.  Located in Goa, NCPOR plays a vital role in advancing scientific knowledge and understanding of these critical ecosystems. The Centre conducts extensive research expeditions to the Arctic, Antarctic, Himalayan regions and surrounding oceans, studying various aspects such as climate change, marine biodiversity, and glaciology. NCPOR also operates India's research stations in Antarctica, providing a platform for scientists to conduct cutting-edge research in extreme environments.  


National Centre for Polar and Ocean


The Ministry of Earth Sciences, under the Government of India, plays a crucial role in understanding and harnessing the power of our planet. With a mission to provide reliable weather forecasts, monitor climate change, and explore the vast Polar regions and oceans, the ministry is at the forefront of scientific research and innovation. One of the key functions of the MoES is to conduct cutting-edge research in areas such as meteorology, Polar Sciences, oceanography, seismology, and climate change. Through its network of premier research institutions, the ministry gathers valuable data and conducts scientific studies to enhance our understanding of Earth's processes. Additionally, it actively collaborates with international partners to exchange knowledge and expertise. By promoting sustainable development and ensuring the well-being of our environment, the Ministry of Earth Sciences is dedicated to safeguarding our planet for future generations. 


Ministry of Earth Sciences

bottom of page